The Children’s Cabinet, Inc. was established in December 1985, as a private non-profit organization with the mission of creating a lasting public-private partnership to address the needs of children and families in our community. This unique commitment to public-private partnerships provides a foundation for the Cabinet’s organizational strength by being able to respond quickly to the changing needs of the community and to bring about true collaboration in the delivery of service. Today, the Cabinet serves more than 15,000 children and families each year.

Children’s Cabinet, Inc. has been very vital in the developing of the Nevada CC Wolverines program and Wolverines Elite Traveling Teams. The Wolverines has become extremely popular among both inner city and suburban youth in Northern Nevada.

The program was created with 7 student-athletes from the Reno, Nevada area in the spring of 2009. These 7 kids were taken to an event in Las Vegas, under

1st Wolverines

1st Wolverines

a different name at the time. The idea for an elite academic and athletic program was formed in the Las Vegas airport by its current program directors, Kathleen Sandoval, Garry Hill-Thomas and Kevinn Pinkney during this trip. Soon after, the Children’s Cabinet started the Nevada CC Wolverines Boys Basketball program in Reno, Nevada. Over the next two years the popularity of the program began to grow at a rapid pace. With the growth of the program we began to go to more tournaments/camps.

As the program grew in popularity the founders developed incredible relationships with some of the most important and connected people throughout the sports industry. These relationships prove to be very valuable to the program as they provided a lot of unique opportunities for the student-athletes for years to come.

Today the Wolverines basketball program continues to grow and develop good players, students and youth men. We continue to compete constantly amongst the top AAU teams in the country in top tournaments throughout the west coast.

2010 Pacific Northwest AAU Runner Up
2011 Three Stripes Tournament Elite Eight
2011 Memorial Day Tournament Final Four
2011 Best of Summer Classic Final Four
2012 Soldiers Easter Extravaganza Champions (Elite Divison)
2012 Jam on It Spring Jam (15U, 16U, 17U) Champions
2013 Memorial Day Tournament Final Four


Wolverines Alumni

2010 Aaron Short – University of Pacific (North Valleys HS)
2011 Phil Smith – Sonoma State University (Spanish Springs HS)
2012 Brandon DeLong – Humboldt State University (Spanish Springs HS)
2012 Jake Johnson – Pepperdine University (Reno HS)
2012 David Abittan – Menlo College (Reno HS)
2012 Brian Smith – Long Beach State (Spanish Springs HS)
2012 John Carlson – San Diego Christian College
2013 Hunter Myers – Harvard University (Douglas HS) *McDonald’s All-American Nominee
2013 Jamir Andrews – University at Albany (Dublin HS, CA)
2013 George Johnson – San Francisco Academy of the Art (Heritage HS, CA)
2013 EJ Poulsen – Seattle Pacific University (Galena HS)
2013 Pierre Carter – California State University, East Bay  (Heritage HS, CA)
2013 Anthony Salerno – La Verne University (Bishop Manogue HS)
2013 Rafe King – Pacific University, OR (Carson HS, NV)
2013 Caleb Wood – Lassen Community College (Galena HS, NV)
2014 Elliot Smith – Florida International University (Freedom HS, CA)
2014 James Sandoval – Linfield College (Bishop Manogue HS)
2014 Kenny Meyers – Southern Oregon University (Spanish Springs HS)
2014 James Harrick – Sacramento State University (Douglas HS)
2014 Kyle Daugherty – Marist College (Damonte Ranch, NV)
2014 Josh Watterson – Ventura College (Lowery HS, NV)
2014 Shawn Briggs – San Francisco City College (Heritage HS, CA)
2014 Remy Dillard – Diablo Valley College (Bishop Manogue HS)
2014 Connor Bush – West Valley College (Reno HS)
2014 Deshawn Pughsley – Feather River College (Wooster HS)
2014 Kyle Mahaffey – San Diego Miramar College (Reno HS)
2015 Matt Hanna – Bates College (Incline HS)
2015 Nathan Klekas – San Diego Christian College (Elko HS)
2015 Derek Novsek – Rend Lake College (Bishop Manogue HS) *McDonald’s All-American Nominee
2015 Zach Lessinger – Montana State University Billings (Galena HS)